Skip Navigation
Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver

The Justice of the Peace

  CONTACT US

Honorable Angie P Garza
Justice of the Peace
507 W Main St
Brownfield, TX 7931 6

Phone: 806.637.4757
Fax: 806.637.2758
Hours: M-F 8:30-5:00 
Duties of the Justice of the Peace:
- Hears Traffic & other Class C Misdemeanor Cases
- Hears civil cases with up to $10,000 in controversy including:
  Debt Claims, Evictions, Small Claims, Repair & Remedy 
- Hears landlord and tenant disputes
- Hears truancy cases
- Performs magistrate duties
- Conducts inquests
 


  Judge Angie P Garza  Search Outstanding Citations

 

Linda McWilliams
Evictions & Reports Clerk
(806) 637-7230 Ext 273 
Teresa Barraza
Civil & Truancy Clerk
(806) 637-7230 Ext 272
Russ McKee
Citations Clerk
(806) 637-7230 Ext 274 

 

   Traffic Tickets
 How much is my Ticket?

HOW TO PAY


HOW TO DEFER


By Mail:


Send Money Order
or Cashiers Check to:

Justice of the Peace
507 W Main St
Brownfield, TX 79316

Please make sure to include your Case Number



In Person:

Bring Cash, Money Order
or Cashiers Check to:

Justice of the Peace
507 W Main St
Brownfield, TX 79316



Online:

www.officialpayments.com

1. Local Payments
2. Jurisdiction Code: 6687
3. Payment Entity: Terry County J.P.
4. Payment Type: Citations
    Convenience Fee: $5.95
5. Enter Payer Information
6. Docket / Case Number
7. Accept
8. Print receipt for your records


Online - Smart Phone:

www.officialpayments.com

1. Local Payments
2. Jurisdiction Code: 6687
3. Payment Entity: Terry County J.P.
4. Payment Type: Citations
    Convenience Fee: $5.95
5. Enter Payer Information
6. Docket / Case Number
7. Accept
8. Print receipt for your records


Why Can't I Talk to the Judge?



WARNING: Do not attempt to contact the judge by mail, email, phone, or in person about any pending criminal or civil matter!

Doing so may result in serious consequences.

Other Civil Links:

Online Law Library
Online Legal Help & Legal Forms
Texas Rules of Civil Procedures (JP)
Texas State Law Library

You MUST Meet These Requirements to be Eligible


Must NOT:

1. Have presently received deferred disposition for another traffic violation, in this, or any other county.
2. Have a driver's license that is under suspension or probation from licensing state.
3. Have a CDL License.
4. Have been driving 25 mph or more.

Items You Will Need:

1. Application for Deferred Disposition
2. Court's Acceptance of Request.
3. Copy of Driver's License.
4. Driving Record (Download PDF or Pay Online)
5. DSC Certificate from an approved Defensive Driving Site if under the age of 25 (PDF).

You will have 90 days probation from the Court's acceptance of your request and payment of the deferment fee.

You cannot have any other traffic violation during the 90 days.

 
 
DEFENSIVE DRIVING
  You MUST Meet These Requirements to be Eligible

Must NOT Have:

1. Been driving 25 mph or more.
2. Taken a Driver safety Course within the last 12 month or are currently taking a course for another violation.
3. Been Driving a Commercial Vehicle.
4. A CDL License.
5. An Out of State License.
6. Had Accident with damage to vehicle.
7. Failed to Render Aid.
8. Been in a Construction or Work Zone.
9. Been Passing a School Bus.

Items You Will Need:

1. Plea/Request for Driver Safety Course
2. Court's Acceptance of Request.
3. Copy of Driver's License.
4. Proof of Insurance with your name on policy.
5. Driving Record ( Download PDF or Pay Online)
6. DSC Certificate from an approved Defensive Driving Site (PDF).

You will have 90 days from the Court's acceptance of your request and payment of the $107.10 fee to obtain and return the Driving Record as well as the DSC Certificate.

You cannot have any other traffic violation during the 90 days.

**NOTE: If you fail to respond by the appearance date shown on the citation, you will be charged with a FAILURE TO APPEAR ($367.00), A WARRANT WILL BE ISSUED FOR YOUR ARREST, YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE WILL BE SUSPENDED, AND YOU WILL BE SUBMITTED TO A COLLECTION AGENCY.
If you are an OUT-OF-STATE VIOLATOR and you fail to respond to the citation issued, procedures will begin in notifying the licensing authority in you state to suspend your Driver's License, and you will be submitted to collections.

 




OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE: $46 to file

An Occupational License can be requested when a traditional license cannot be obtained and need for transportation to and from work or school can be proven. 
 
Occupational License Request (PDF)

Driving Record Request Form (PDF)

SR-22 (Ask your Auto Insurance provider)
 
       
SMALL CLAIMS: $121 to file

A Small Claims case is a lawsuit brought for the recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal property, or other relief allowed by law. The claim can be for no more than $10,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs, but including attorney fees, if any. 

Civil Case Information Sheet (PDF) 
Small Claims (PDF)
Affidavit of Non-Military Service
Texas Rules of Civil Procedures

Note:  A $75 per person charge will be added to the $121 fee for each additional person listed in a suit.  If the person or business is located outside of Terry County, Contact our office for filing charges.
  EVICTIONS: $121 to file

An eviction case is a lawsuit brought to recover possession of real property, often by a landlord against a tenant. A claim for rent may be joined with an eviction case if the amount of rent due is not more than $10,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. 

Copy of 3 Day Notice of Eviction
Civil Case Information Sheet (PDF)
Eviction Petition (PDF)
Affidavit of Non-Military Service (PDF)

Landlord and Tenant Guide
Texas Rules of Civil Procedures

Note:  A $75 per person charge will be added to the $121 fee for each additional person listed in a suit.  If the person or business is located outside of Terry County, Contact our office for filing charges. 

 
       
DEBT CLAIM: $121 to file

A Debt Claim case is a lawsuit brought to recover a debt by an assignee of a claim, a debt collector or collection agency, a financial institution, or a person or entity primarily engaged in the business of lending money at interest. The claim can be for no more than $10,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs, but including attorney fees, if any. 

Civil Case Information Sheet (PDF)
Debt Claim Petition (PDF)
Affidavit of Non-Military Service
Texas Rules of Civil Procedures

Note:  A $75 per person charge will be added to the $121 fee for each additional person listed in a suit.  If the person or business is located outside of Terry County, Contact our office for filing charges.
  REPAIR & REMEDY: $121 to file

A Repair & Remedy case is filed by a residential tenant under Chapter 92, Subchapter B of the Texas Property Code to enforce the landlord's duty to repair or remedy a condition materially affecting the physical health or safety of an ordinary tenant. The relief sought can be for no more than $10,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs, but including attorney fees, if any. 

Civil Case Information Sheet (PDF) 
Restoration of Utilities (PDF)
Affidavit of Non-Military Service
Texas Rules of Civil Procedures

Note:  A $75 per person charge will be added to the $121 fee for each additional person listed in a suit.  If the person or business is located outside of Terry County, Contact our office for filing charges.
 


NOTE: All fees and requirements listed are basic and subject to change without notice.

Copyright © {{YEAR}} {{COUNTY}} {{STATE}}

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM